At the outset, it may be stated that contracts of
insurance are contracts of uberrima fides and every material
fact is required to be disclosed. In United India
Insurance Co. Ltd. v. M.K.J. Corpn.(1996) 6 SCC 428
, a two-Judge Bench
has observed:-
“It is a fundamental principle of Insurance law
that utmost good faith must be observed by
the contracting parties. Good faith forbids
either party from concealing (non-disclosure)
what he privately knows, to draw the other
into a bargain, from his ignorance of that fact
and his believing the contrary. Just as the
insured has a duty to disclose, “similarly, it is
the duty of the insurers and their agents to
disclose all material facts within their
knowledge, since obligation of good faith
applies to them equally with the assured”.”
Regard being had to these principles, the authorities
cited by Mr. Gupta, learned senior counsel for the appellant
are to be seen.
In Amalgamated Electricity Co. v. Ajmer
Municipality (1969) 2 SCR 430 = AIR 1969 SC 227
, though in a different context, it has been
held that:-
“In construing the true nature of the contract
entered into between the parties, the contract has
to be read as a whole and if so read it is clear
that what the plaintiff undertook was to pump
water from the wells in question and not to
supply any electrical energy. Hence we are in
agreement with the learned Judges of the High
Court that the plaintiff's case in this regard
should fail.”
11. In Bay Berry Apartments (P) Ltd. and Another v.
Shobha and others (2006) 13 SCC 737
, the Court has observed that in
construing a document, the Court cannot assign any other
meaning; and a document as is well known must be
construed in its entirety.
12. In Polymer India (P) Ltd. and Another v. National
Insurance Co. Ltd. and Others (2005) 9 SCC 174
, this Court has held
thus:-
“19. In this connection, a reference may be made
to a series of decisions of this Court wherein it
has been held that it is the duty of the court to
interpret the document of contract as was
understood between the parties. In the case of
General Assurance Society Ltd. v. Chandumull
Jain (1996) 3 SCR 500 : AIR 1966 SC 1644
, it was observed as under:
“In interpreting documents relating to a
contract of insurance, the duty of the court
is to interpret the words in which the
contract is expressed by the parties, because
it is not for the court to make a new
contract, however reasonable, if the parties
have not made it themselves.”
20. Similarly, in the case of Oriental Insurance
Co. Ltd. v. Samayanallur Primary Agricultural
Coop. Bank (1999) 8 SCC 543
, it was observed as under:
“The insurance policy has to be construed
having reference only to the stipulations
contained in it and no artificial far-fetched
meaning could be given to the words
appearing in it.”
21. Therefore, the terms of the contract have to
be construed strictly without altering the nature
of the contract as it may affect the interest of
parties adversely.”
13. Learned senior counsel for the appellant has also
drawn inspiration from the decision in General Assurance
Society Ltd. v. Chandmull Jain (1966) 3 SCR 500 = AIR 1966 SC 1644
, rendered by the
Constitution Bench wherein it has been held that:-
“In other respects there is no difference between
a contract of insurance and any other contract
except that in a contract of insurance there is a
requirement of uberrima fides i.e. good faith on
the part of the assured and the contract is likely
to be construed contra proferentem that is against
the company in case of ambiguity or doubt. A
contract is formed when there is an unqualified
acceptance of the proposal. Acceptance may be
expressed in writing or it may even be implied if
the insurer accepts the premium and retains it.
In the case of the assured, a positive act on his
part by which he recognises or seeks to enforce
the policy amounts to an affirmation of it. This
position was clearly recognised by the assured
himself, because he wrote, close upon the expiry
of the time of the cover notes that either a policy
should be issued to him before that period had
expired or the cover note extended in time. In
interpreting documents relating to a contract of
insurance, the duty of the court is to interpret
the words in which the contract is expressed by
the parties, because it is not for the court to
make a new contract, however reasonable, if the
parties have not made it themselves. Looking at
the proposal, the letter of acceptance and the
cover notes, it is clear that a contract of
insurance under the standard policy for fire and
extended to cover flood, cyclone etc. had come
into being.”
14. Mr. Gupta, learned senior counsel for the appellant
has also drawn our attention to Baj (Run Off) Ltd. v.
Durham and others (2012) UKSC 14
, wherein the Supreme Court of
United Kingdom, while interpreting the contract of
insurance has opined:-
“To resolve these questions it is necessary to
avoid over-concentration on the meaning of single
words or phrases viewed in isolation, and to look
at the insurance contracts more broadly. As Lord
Mustill observed in Charter Reinsurance Co. Ltd.
v. Fagan [1977] AC 313, 384
, all such words “must be set in the
landscape of the instrument as a whole” at p.381,
any “instinctive response” to their meaning “must
be verified by studying the other terms of the
contract, placed in the context of the factual and
commercial background of the transaction”. The
present case has given rise to considerable
argument about what constitutes and is
admissible as part of the commercial background
to the insurances, which may shape their
meaning. But in my opinion, considerable
insight into the scope, purpose and proper
interpretation of each of these insurances is to be
gained from a study of its language, read in its
entirety. So, for the moment, I concentrate on
the assistance to be gained in that connection.”
Relying on the authorities which have been stated by
Mr. Gupta, it is submitted by him that the policy between
the parties is required to be read as a whole and on a
reading of the policy in entirety, it is clear that the
declaration of all the shipments whether covered under the
policy or not, is not mandatory and only the shipments in
respect of which claims are lodged are required to be As has been held in Chandmull Jain (supra) by the
Constitution Bench that in a contract of insurance, there is
a requirement of good faith on the part of the insured and
in case of ambiguity, it has to be construed against the
company. As per other authorities, the insurance policy
has to be strictly construed and it has to be read as a whole
and nothing should be added or subtracted. That apart, as
has been held in Polymer India (P) Ltd. (supra), it is the
duty of the Court to interpret the document as is
understood between the parties and regard being had to the
reference to the stipulations contained in it.
Reportable
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF INDIA
CIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTION
CIVIL APPEAL NO. 2729 OF 2009
M/s. BHS Industries ... Appellant
Versus
Export Credit Guarantee Corp. & Anr. ... Respondents
Citation;(2015) 9 SCC414